The day to day operations of the Society are overseen by the Chief Executive Officer, supported by a dedicated and diverse team of staff.

You can contact the Society at any time during business hours on 02 6274 0300, or after hours by emailing

Simone Carton, Chief Executive Officer

Simone joined the ACT Law Society in June 2020. An experienced CEO, lawyer and governance professional, Simone has worked across a variety of sectors including health, advertising, banking, aviation, and the arts. Prior to joining the ACT Law Society, Simone was CEO of the Australian and New Zealand Society of Palliative Medicine, the peak body for palliative medicine practitioners. Before that, she worked as in-house lawyer and company secretary for the Advertising Standards Bureau, which administered the complaint resolution component of the advertising self-regulation system. Simone is also an experienced non-executive director, currently serving on the board of Asthma Australia.


  • Finance & Business Services Manager — Lea McLean
  • Bookkeeper — Kathleen Lui
  • Executive Secretary / Licensing — Nicole Crossley
  • Executive Assistant — Chantelle Hanley
  • Communications Officer — Hayley White 

Professional Standards

  • Regulatory Support Officer — Kiralee Tyrrell
  • Regulatory Support Officer — Praju Pradhan

Policy and Programs

  • Manager, Policy & Programs — Jaime Shields
  • Senior Policy Officer — Elsa Sengstock
  • Research Officer — Kieran Parkinson
  • Events & Marketing Officer — Kara O'Brien
  • Database Administrator and IT Support Officer — Casey Magnussen
  • Committee Administration Coordinator — Jayden Alderman
  • Office Administrator — Tina Ryan
  • Administrative Support — Janette Graham
  • Member Engagement Officer — Jaimie Fairhall