Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Justice Committee

The Society established the Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Justice Committee in November 2020. At the close of 2020, the committee identified its aims for the year ahead and discussed its intentions going forward. While still in its early stages, members’ significant experience has helped the committee to pinpoint key issue areas that present barriers to justice for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander clients in the ACT.

You can contact the committee directly through the Law Society's Committee Administrator on committee@actlawsociety.asn.au.


  • Emma Towney, Canberra Community Law (Chair)
  • Rachael Clark, Canberra Community Law
  • Lauren Skinner, Aboriginal Legal Service (NSW/ACT)
  • Kath Taplin, ACT Human Rights Commission

Related Links